Hello i'm new at this

ukiceman

Joined Nov 22, 2009
Hi Guys

Firstly I’d like to say, what a great site :)
As you can see this is my first posting so, I’ll jump right in with my question.

Could somebody have a look at my graphic and tell me if I understand this properly? I’ve only been studying electronics for the last three months and, at 45 years old it’s slow going, I always get stuck with the maths.

Regards
Shaun

Attachments

Jony130

Joined Feb 17, 2009
Looks good for me. But remember that in saturation Ic=β*Ib don't hold any more.
So RB_max=82K but in practical circuits we use RB smaller then 82K.
3 to 10 times smallre.
So R1=10K looks good

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
As a general rule of thumb you need 1/10 the base current that you will get on a saturated collector current. It will work at smaller base currents, but if you want 100% use this rule.

Something I picked up on this site.

ukiceman

Joined Nov 22, 2009
Looks good for me. But remember that in saturation Ic=β*Ib don't hold any more
I did ask myself why most examples I looked at used 10k on the base, yet applying the formulas in the examples I got 82k? Could you explain without getting deep why it doesn’t work? Now I’m even more confused :confused:

Regards
Shaun

Jony130

Joined Feb 17, 2009
Hmm, Hfe is low when Vce is low,so the spec value for hfe will not work for saturation calculations.
And that is why we must use the lower value for RB than we calculated.
But if you select BJT with beta larger then hfe_min, your circuit will be work just fine with Rb=82K.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Shaun,
You generally just use the hFE specification(s) when you are using the transistor as a linear amplifier.