Hello everybody

gepdiana

Joined Aug 17, 2013
Hi, Im a very noob... but interested in lot of things.. especially science things... Im from Italy so forgive my crappy english... :)
I decided to register to this forum cause I read some of the lessons about electic circuits here... and i liked them.
But there is a concept that I can't really understand... so I decided to ask for help...
I read about other few similar questions.. but I didn't "like" that much the answers I read...
Suppose I've one simple closed circuit, a battery connected to a bulb : if I measure the voltage before and after the bulb I'll get 9 volts right? But if I test with the two probes AFTER the bulb (or before) I'll get 0. Fine. I don't like this... :) I mean If I think only at tha part of the circuit I m testing (a piece of wire actually) I can see no voltage... BUT CURRENT! (the one comin out from the bulb).
Am I totally wrong in my reasoning? (maybe it is more like a philophical question...)

Thank you very much for your patience.

Have a nice day!

Shagas

Joined May 13, 2013
Try reading again this . Maybe a few times so you understand it well.

http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/vol_1/chpt_2/1.html

Your testing is wrong
Voltage is a RELATIVE quality. That means that you put 1 probe on the reference voltage (or ground) or wherever , and you put your other probe on the place that you want to measure and you will get that voltage - reference (or ground) voltage.

If you put a 9 volt battery to a light bulb then you have a complete circuit .
If you put your probes across the battery before you put the light bulb you will see 9 volts.
If you put it when the circuit is completed you will still see 8-9 volts (abit less due to internal resistance)
Read the article that I linked and the ones after that and before and you will start to understand

Also , go on youtube and write : How to measure voltage and current using multimeter .