Hartley oscillator simple project help

leonheard

Joined Jan 8, 2013
Hello!

I need help for my next project... I want to build an hartley oscillator with a resonant frecuency of 9khz
My power supply has 5.2 volts, my LC tank circuit is tuned to resonate at 9 khz ( no problem there I made the taped air coil about 14.15uH and 22uF capacitor) BUT what would be the values for
R1,R2,R3,R4
C1 = capacitor emisor
C2 = capacitor output
C3 = capacitor base

Here is the link of that hartley oscillator….
http://www.electronics-tutorials.ws/oscillator/osc6.gif

I have basic knowledge in electronics

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
no problem there I made the taped air coil about 14.15uH and 22uF capacitor
Where is the tap in relation to the coil ends? Half way between, or ....? Is your 22uF cap non-polarised (since the voltage across it is alternating)?
You could try R1=10k, R2=4k7, R3=2k2, R4=1k, C1=1u, C2=100nF, C3=100nF. However, I couldn't get a simulation of the circuit you posted to work with the coil tap grounded directly. It needed to be grounded via a >1uF cap instead.

leonheard

Joined Jan 8, 2013
Where is the tap in relation to the coil ends? Half way between, or ....?

its in the middle.

Is your 22uF cap non-polarised (since the voltage across it is alternating)?

it is actually an electrolyte :/ i guess i will need to buy a non polarised one...

However, I couldn't get a simulation of the circuit you posted to work with the coil tap grounded directly. It needed to be grounded via a >1uF cap instead.

Thanks! I didnt know that, how did you know that a >1uF cap needed to be used? :D

I couldn't get a simulation of the circuit you posted to work

Could you tell me the name of the simulation u use?

leonheard

Joined Jan 8, 2013
Trial and error. That's the beauty of simulation

I thought you used maths, formulas etc lol xD

I use LTspice (as do many on this site)