Halloween Village Led Project

ams0401

Joined Sep 12, 2013
Hello everyone, I decided to start a project for my miniature Halloween village. The idea is to wire in led's within certain parts of the decor. I have very little experience with wiring or working with pcb boards. I have looked everywhere and can't seam to find what I'm looking for, I know what I would like to do in my head but I need help with getting it on paper so I can get some boards built.

Basically I want to build a board that has a 12v supply, the led's will be grouped in three's run in series, with about 10 groups on each board. I drew a rough idea of what I want, I need help with the design and if I even did it right anything will help thank you.

Attachments

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
You're on the right track, and I'm not sure what you are asking. There are two main electrical concerns; each string needs the proper resistor to limit current, and the total current of all the strings in parallel needs to be less than the rating of the power supply, say 80% or less.

Beyond that, it's just choosing colors and arrangements and such. You might have to worry about power (heat) dissipation if these are high power LEDs, but if they are "normal" the heat is not a problem.

Do you really want the LEDs on a board, and not placed strategically around your other decorations?

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Good start. Now pick some LEDS and find out what voltage each one needs, then calculate a resistor. Your garden variety LEDs have a 20 ma current limit. If each one needed 3 volts, you would use the remaining 3 volts to figure a resistor like this:
R = E/I
R = 3/.02
R = 150 ohms minimum

I prefer not to drive LEDs at their absolute maximum survivable current, so I would use at least enough resistance to take the current down to 18ma or less.

ams0401

Joined Sep 12, 2013