Hall Effect Magnetometer-Amplifier?

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by levangram, Oct 31, 2009.

1. levangram

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 31, 2009
    Hi everybody!
    I have a llittle problem...I'm relatively new to these projects,so i would appreciate any help!
    What i'm trying to do is to build a simple magnetometer with a hall effect sensor.I use a digital panel meter and i want it to show me not the voltage output of the sensor,but the present magnetc field's flux density.The equation is B=(V-2.5)/2.5
    So that for example if the voltage output that i count is 2.5,my indication to be 0.if my voltage is 5,the indicator to display 1 and so on.
    How exactly can i converty my voltage in this way?Do i have to use an amplifier or something like this and if so,what's the way to do it?:confused:
    Many thanks in advance,i would appreciate any help given,as i am a total newbie to these electronic things!

2. hgmjr

Jan 28, 2005
    Have you found any potential circuits from your research on the Internet?

hgmjr

3. levangram

Oct 31, 2009
    No,unfortunately i haven't...After all,i don't really know what i'm looking for,as i'm really new to these things..I'm trying for days to get into it and find a possible solution,but i haven't..

4. steveb

Jul 3, 2008
    The simplest way to do this is to use a panel meter powered by 5 VDC and allowing a reference point different from ground. You are simply trying to measure voltage off of a 2.5 VDC reference point. You can use a simple 2.5 VDC voltage reference IC chip as the reference point. Or, a Hall sensor that is not in a field can serve as the voltage reference during testing.

Then you can use an inverting OPAMP amplifier stage, also referenced to the 2.5 VDC reference voltage (apply it to the noninverting input on the opamp). Choose the two resistors on the amplifier to give you a gain of -0.4. The output of the opamp and the 2.5 VDC reference voltage then feed into your panel meter.