H-bridge motor control FAN73832

rlwoodjr

Joined Mar 19, 2010
Hello all. I am a newbie to this forum and a newbie to electronics. I have read a lot about h-bridges, and would like some feedback to some basic questions.

I have 50 VDC motors that I want to use PWM to drive them in a CNC router.

The motors have a 6 amp stall current (tested with 50 VDC) so I have not planned any current limiting....is this bad?

The Mosfets are rated for 55 VDC....is this enough since I am driving them on with a high side driver?

What should the bootstrap capacitor and diode be rated for?

I hooked it up on a breadboard. The scope without the 50 VDC looked like I expected, then I added the 50 VDC...still looked good on the scope, I hooked up the motor and smoke came up from the fan73832.

Any comments or suggestions would be appreciated.

Attachments

rlwoodjr

Joined Mar 19, 2010
I built another circuit on another breadboard and tried 20 VDC. It worked so I moved to 50 VDC...it works too.

I pulse 24 to 1000 (0-1024). Less than 24 or more than 1000 does not give the bootstrap to charge....? Can I do better with a larger capacitor? At 512 it stops, less it goes one way more the other.

I have 2 voltage supplies. One at 16 VDC and one at 50 VDC. Is it possible to use the FAN73832 with out a bootstrap setup by applying 66 VDC to the chip?

I only ran for a few minutes. I suppose I should setup a test bed and run it back and forth with a load.

Any advice on the capacitor or diode sizes or voltage ratings?

Should I get higher voltage rating mosfets? Mine are rated at 55 VDC.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Use larger caps in parallel with C1/C2.
I'd use Shottky diodes for D5, D6, but you'll need 'em rated for >=60v.

UF4003's are too small for the reverse-EMF diodes. They're only rated for 1A average.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
I forgot - you need caps from the anodes of D5 & D6 to GND. They should be several times larger than C1 & C2 (and the caps in parallel with them)