Guitar/Bass Effects

goddard1824

Joined Jun 17, 2006
Hey everyone,

I am a musician (bassist), which is why I became interested in electronics in the first place (amps, effects, sound, etc.) and I have a question for some of you. Those of you who may be familiar with guitar effects and amps, would it be alright to use a bass guitar with guitar effects (more specifically, distortion pedals and wah-wah pedals). I have tried them out with the bass and they seem to work fine, but I would like to know if I am doing any damage to the circuit? Also, what is it about a bass amp that makes it different from a guitar amp (electronically speaking that is!).

Thanks

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Originally posted by goddard1824@Jun 21 2006, 03:19 PM
Hey everyone,

I am a musician (bassist), which is why I became interested in electronics in the first place (amps, effects, sound, etc.) and I have a question for some of you. Those of you who may be familiar with guitar effects and amps, would it be alright to use a bass guitar with guitar effects (more specifically, distortion pedals and wah-wah pedals). I have tried them out with the bass and they seem to work fine, but I would like to know if I am doing any damage to the circuit? Also, what is it about a bass amp that makes it different from a guitar amp (electronically speaking that is!).

Thanks
[post=17835]Quoted post[/post]​
Heat is the thing that does the most damage. Heat comes from several sources including ambient temperature like on a hot summer night under bright lights. Heat is generated when you try to move large amounts of power from the power supply to the speakers.

I believe the difference between the amps is the frequency response. A bass amp would be designed to amplify signals from below the range of hearing at about 16 Hz. up to say middle C which is at 256 Hz. A guitar amp might overlap slightly and go from 100 Hz. to 10 KHz.