Guidance needed in building an amplifier

justinblain

Joined Jun 13, 2014
Hi,

I had an old stereo and it had stopped working so i have removed it's speakers.
Now i want this speakers to be used with mobile/laptop/portable mp3 players.

Basically i don't belong to the field of electronics so i have no knowledge about circuits and electronic components. so i need complete guidance about building a amplifier for my speakers. and ofcourse i have tried finding amplifier in electronic shops but they don't have any amplifier which suit my speakers.

I have attached snap of the speakers for details of speakers' output.

Now for power supply i have my old phones' chargers
one provides output of 5V 0.7A
and other with 5V 0.89A

I dont know if any of the chargers can be used to provide input for amplification but if any of them can be used then kindly guide me about the things i will need along with diagram to build an amplifier.
if it needs more power supply then let me know how much power will it need..

thanks in advance..

Attachments

justinblain

Joined Jun 13, 2014
Thanks for the reply
And ya i found such boards as a solution when i googled but it provides output of 3W per channel and i think my speakers can produce 4.5W output so i will not be able to use the max power of speakers.
That's why i want to build one that perfectly suits my speakers.

PatM

Joined Dec 31, 2010
Nominal output is 2.8W
The MAX is 4.5W
Loud peaks should not exceed the 4.5W
Stay with the 3W so you do not exceed the 4.5W MAX
You should be more worried about having a amplifier that will match 4 ohm speakers and not use one designed for 8 ohm or 16 ohm speakers.

BobTPH

Joined Jun 5, 2013
Well, the two power adapters you mentioned put out 3.5W and 4.5W total, so neither of them would be able to put out 4.5W to each of two speakers.

The 3+3W amp linked to by MrChips is probably the best you are going to do.