Grounding an antenna, rod length.

hwy101

Joined May 23, 2009
When I worked in the communications field we used the plated 10 ft grounding rods, 5/8" dia.
go as deep as you can with a fence post driver or a big sledge.
Is this antenna on a pole or a tower?

nerdegutta

Joined Dec 15, 2009
When I worked in the communications field we used the plated 10 ft grounding rods, 5/8" dia.
go as deep as you can with a fence post driver or a big sledge.
Is this antenna on a pole or a tower?
Sometimes, it will be on a pole, and other time it will be on a vehicle. When on a vehicle, the vehicle needs to be grounded.

nerdegutta

Joined Dec 15, 2009
No, the vehicle is the ground.

so, I'm guessing this is a mobile antenna that is also used at home.

is it magnetic base? what model/brand is it?
How come the vehicle is ground, with rubber tires? I've read somewhere that to reduce noise and enhance the signal, it is necessary to ground the antenna. And I was wondering how long the grounding rod had to be.

K7GUH

Joined Jan 28, 2011
You are, I gather, trying to provide an RF ground for the antenna, not an electrical safety ground. At 70 MHz, a 1/4 wavelength radial would be approximately 1.02 meters long. Four or more of these radials should improve the antenna's performance. They are arranged perpendicular to the vertical portion of the antenna. I refer you to any good reference on antennas, e.g. the ARRL Antenna Handbook, any edition. (Likely available at your local library.) For this purpose, a ground rod driven into the earth is not required, but probably won't hurt. If you are using coaxial cable as a lead from the transceiver to the antenna, the center conductor goes to the vertical element, the shield to the radials and/or ground rod.

In a mobile installation, the frame and other metal parts of the vehicle provide an RF ground, coupled by capacity to earth ground. Not the best of all possible worlds, but it's what is available.

nerdegutta

Joined Dec 15, 2009