Greetings, Newbie help for led flasher circuit

gsxrglen

Joined Sep 16, 2012
Hi all, I have got my first breadboard and I would like to build a circuit with 4 flashing (wig wag) style for my daughters 12v (toy) car. I searched the forums and can't find what I am looking for.

Basically, I want 2 leds in the front flashing and 2 in the rear.

Does anybody have an existing schematic I can use to build this or point me in a direction to find one?

Basically my daughter is dressing up as poilce for haloween, so i told her I would do up her ride on car.

Thanks for any help.

Cheers.

gsxrglen

Joined Sep 16, 2012
Thanks MrChips. That is sort is what I am looking for except with 12 volts instead of the nine volts on that circuit. I also am looking to flash 4 LEDs.

Please keep in mind I am very new to this stuff. I understand what capacitors,diodes etc do but can't design a circuit yet......... Well one that works anyway. Lol :D

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
That circuit will work on 12V too.
You can replace R3 and R4 with a single fixed resistor, once you find the right flash rate want.

gsxrglen

Joined Sep 16, 2012
Thank you sir. I will do some experimenting on the breadboard.

One last question, what determines the flash rate on that circuit?

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
The combination of R3 + R4 and C1.
Increasing the resistance and/or capacitance will give a longer period (i.e. slower rate).

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
I wrote that article, I also wrote this...

LEDs, 555s, Flashers, and Light Chasers

If asked nicely, I will design to order. :D I also really like kids, and have never outgrown my fascination with flashy circuits.

Be careful with the new generation of LEDs, even at 20ma if put right next to the eyeball there is the chance they can do damage, they are not light bulbs. The older generations were very very dim. This has changed.

gsxrglen

Joined Sep 16, 2012