Greetings and please help...

ElectronMan

Joined Jan 29, 2007
Greetings,

My name is Geoff and this is my first post on this forum. I'm perfectly willing to tell anything about myself but I'll just start by saying that I'm a home owner in NorCal, I'm 30 and I'm facing the possibility of a career change which is the reason I joined this forum. My username isn't even anything special, just something I picked out of the air because I had to.

I apologize in advance to the moderator, I have many questions to cram into this one post.

Long story short, I've been in the same field (fire alarm) for nine years right out of Heald College. I have my associates degree in computers/electronics but I freely admit that electronics has never come easy to me. I suspect that many of you on here are better at it on the grounds that it can be a hobby as much as a career, let alone natural talent and whatever else.

This Friday I'll be taking a written exam for a new job, I have a study guide from the employer and two big electronics books but I need a "tutor." Below will be questions from that study guide that I'm hoping many of you can "dumb down" for me. I appreciate it.

1) I need to be familiar with Kirchoff's Voltage and Current Laws.
2) Determine the time constant of an RC Network.
3) Calculate Reactance, Impedance, and Resonant Frequency.
4) Relate the characteristics of tuned circuits and state how they affect the operation of filters and oscillators.
5) What is a tunnel diode, and a signal diode? What are their schematic symbols? What are JFETs, MOSFETs, and IGBTs? What are their symbols? What is an SCR, Diac, Triac? What are their symbols?
6) I need to (and don't) remember how to use an oscilloscope.

There's plenty more but I won't get into it, at least not yet. I'm already feeling overwhelmed. As I said I've been in fire alarm for nine years, I've let everything that I might have known that isn't FA related leak out my ears.

Thanks again!

Geoff.

hgmjr