Graphical LCD Starting Point MPLAB

toonamo

Joined Sep 27, 2012
Hello,

I recently started learning how to program PIC's. I have purchased a led chaser kit and successfully assembled and programmed that project. With function calls, delays, loading data from a table, and basic assembly. I have the PICkit 2 and MPLAB to code, build, and upload.

I then started reading about analog to digital conversion and 4 wire restrictive touch pads and ASCII lcd displays. I found a tutorial on how to take the analog values from the x and y axis and display the coordinates on a 2 line lcd display.

I then wanted to learn how to do a graphical display on a 4.3" LCD TFT display. This unit also has a touch screen. Here is a link to the touchscreen for it's datasheet.

What i do not understand is if this touchscreen has a built in display controller, i think it doesn't because the pin out shows 8 inputs for R, G, and B. Then this has a horizontal and vertical sync as well.

I am just trying to learn at this point. I just want to make a touch panel with basic 2d "buttons" that will trigger different button layouts and also drive another pic that would trigger led's to light depending on the button press. For now i am thinking of loading raw hex data for "buttons". Eventually i would also like to trigger relays that could power a fan and perhaps a small motor. I would also like to possibly add a micro sd card to hold more data for the graphics.

My questions are how do i find a graphic controller to match a graphic lcd?

What is the best way to store image data?

If i store data onto a sd card are there specific chips i need to load a Jpeg or even a png graphic file?

What is the "best" way to have pic's trigger events in another pic and then give feedback to the pic that called a event?