Generation of Electricity

Eternal Student

Joined May 7, 2009

Thanks but that really doesn't answer the question... WHERE does it come from?

Is it in just in the air? Why can moving a magnet through a coil produce EMF? WHERE does the electricity come from? Is the electricity already present on the coil? Is it alredy present in the magnet? According to what I have been told about energy, it can neither be created nor destroyed. If that is true, then the electricity must reside somewhere in some form waiting for someone to turn a rotor inside a stator and "release" the electons.

I am serious. I have been an electrician for 20 years but until recently I never thought about WHERE it comes from. The power company doesn't "produce" it they simply extract it. But from WHERE? I can fire up my generator and viola! Electricity! But from WHERE? I'm pretty sure I didn't "create" it in the generator. the generator simply extracted it, but from WHERE?

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
Sorry, but that magnetic field cutting a conductor will cause the electrons in the conductor to move. Complete the circuit, and the electrons move in a big set of oscillations.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
You're being obtuse. Think conversion. Electricity is energy, it started as some other form of energy, such as water flowing over a cliff, or steam turning a turbine. At the end of the long chains of conversions it ends up as heat, or electromagnetic radiation.

The example of moving the magnet through a coil, for example, the source of the energy is the movement itself.

The big secret of the modern age of technology, how to convert one form of energy into another. Some of the concepts are hard, but the information is available to all who are willing to study.

PRS

Joined Aug 24, 2008