General Guideline to get into EE/Embedded

wyattmarshall

Joined Jul 10, 2022
Hey Everyone!

I was wondering if anyone can share a decent "path" to get into Electrical Engineering/Embedded systems?

I am not even sure exactly where I am going, I just have a basic idea of what I think I need to get started in EE/Embedded. So far I think I need to learn Embedded Linux, AVR and/or ARM.

Sorry for the long post, I am just extremely lost and maybe someone else is in a similar position that could benefit from any answers here.

I have been into computers my whole life (currently 26y/o) but other than an AA degree in computer science in 2013, I have never worked in IT, I've been a welder since 18. I have tinkered with web design on and off for years (PHP, Javascript, Ect) and got pretty good at it, just never stuck with it because I couldn't care less about making websites, they just don't interest me. My main goal has always been to make hardware and gadgets and gizmos related to racing (cars, motorcycles, and basically anything with wheels and motor). So I ended up randomly getting an interview with a company for an embedded role, but obviously having never done embedded, I got turned down. I was able to get an idea of what that job and some others similar to it want from their employees, and I have found over the last 3 months or so that there doesn't seem to be a direct path that I can find.

Through what Ive found, I need AVR, ARM, Embedded Linux and EE to get started.
Within the first chapter of "Fundamentals of Electric Circuits" by Alexander + Sadiku

AVR wise, I read Make: Programming AVR, which I found barely useful and ended up just attempting to read the datasheet to figure it out. So far the AVR isn't too bad, I am fairly comfortable with some basic programs but I got stuck at PWM for a servo (mainly because I had no idea if it was working and needed to get an oscilloscope to figure that part out).