garage door monitor

coeng

Joined Oct 29, 2009
Newbie here. I have a limited background in circuits (I had some EE courses in college on my way to a CoE degree) so I'm not completely clueless, but hardly savvy.

I am attempting to install a circuit for a garage door monitor. I went to my local electronics store today to get the parts. First off, the guy told me that I shouldn't be using an AC transformer (as per the wiring diagram) because it would required the use of a rectifier and something else (he lost me at that point). Instead he sold me a (much cheaper) simple 12V plug-in transformer (sort of like the kind you use to power a cordless telephone base). He told me to cut the socket end off, split the leads (striped lead is positive), solder one side of the resister to the positive lead, solder the other end of the resister to one end of the switch, solder the other end of the switch to the anode (long lead) of the LED, and solder the cathode back to the the negative lead of the transformer. Does this sound about right?

Being that the LED (basic 5mm red LED from Radio Shack) has a typical voltage of 2.25 volts, that would require a ~488 Ohm resistor to produce a 20ma current.... (12v-2.25v)/20ma = 488. I believe he sold me a 510 Ohm. Does this sound about right? The original wiring diagram called for a 4.7K resistor....why I don't know...but that would only produce a 5ma current which would barely illuminate the LED, right?

Another thing he told me to do was use 18 gauge speaker wire instead of solid bell wire that the diagram called for. Is there any difference? I plan to run the wire 100 feet from the switches to LED.