from LED to light BULB

kiljoi

Joined Oct 26, 2009
hello...:D
for my project i'm using a PIC18F452 and light sensors to turn on my LED.
i manage to turn on the led according to the condition i've set using the pic and now i need to replace the led with a light bulb.

i'm using a 4.8v 0.3A light bulb..

i know that at the output pin for the pic, the current is only at 25mA@5v...the current is too small to turn on the bulb
so my question is HOW DO I AMPLIFY THE CURRENT??...can i amplify the current?....is it by using a transformer??..can anyone help me???...i can't think of something better...:(:(

it would be a lifesaver is someone can show me the circuit to amplify the current..

i'm still an amateur in all this stuff...i ask a lot of people in order to make sure my led works..now the problem is to replace the led to a light bulb..

FYI,i've tried replacing the led connection to the bulb...the voltage drop suddenly..the voltage at the output pin when i turn on led is 4.5++volt..and when i try it with bulb it around 0.05++v...it makes no sense..why does that occured??

many2 thanks in advance..

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
The easiest way would be to use a transistor.
I don't know what is available where you are, but here in the USA, the 2N2222/PN2222 transistor is very frequently used as a switch for such tasks.

1) Emitter is connected to GND.
2) Base is connected to your uC I/O pin using a resistor. The resistor limits current from the I/O pin and going into the base. To ensure saturation of the transistor, you should give the base 1/10 of the desired collector current - however even that isn't possible.
If your uC's Vcc is 5v, a 220 Ohm resistor from the I/O pin to the base of the transistor will give a base current of around 19mA. This will guarantee transistor saturation for a load of 190mA. It MAY work for a load as high as 400mA, but you may have to try several transistors before you can get it to work.