Frequency Response of Amplifiers In Practice

denissoncs

Joined Nov 8, 2011
Hello Everyone,

I'm studying frequency response of amplifiers. For example, consider the common emiter amplifier as showed in the picture:

I've simulated this on MULTISIM and the result was similar to the expected theorectal value.

But in the lab I tested the circuit using a protoboard but the result was very diferent. I was expecting high cutoff frequency of about 1.7 MHZ but I got 250KHZ in pratice. I can't explain why... Suposing the circuit is correct, can anyone help me how to see in practice the theorectal value with little error?

Thanks,

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Did you build it on a protoboard? The medium you use to build it has a butt load of assumptions associated with it.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Because you didn't model the parasitics of the interconnecting wiring and the protoboard. Even lengths of straight wire have inductance: http://www.consultrsr.com/resources/eis/induct5.htm
If there are curves in the wire, the inductance goes up a good bit.
The parasitics of protoboards varies widely.
Your components are an unknown. Typical electrolytic capacitors have a considerable amount of parasitics; low-ESR caps are much better.

You might try building a version using the "dead bug" technique. That's where you use a board with copper on one side as a ground plane, glue the parts down with their legs in the air, and do point-to-point wiring in the shortest paths possible. You eliminate most of the external parasitics that way.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
What are the resistor and capacitor values for your circuit? That mostly determines how the parasitics affect the frequency response.

denissoncs

Joined Nov 8, 2011

I found one of the circuits I tested. On theory, and Multisim the high cutoff frequency was about 1MHZ.

But in practice, using protoboard I obtained around 200khz. This is a common emiter with a current source using a AMPOP.