Fourier Series

Lightfire

Joined Oct 5, 2010
I'm fairly new to this topic. I have not yet studied the first topics in the Differential Equation but I decided to study this first. I don't know why. But I do hope you'll help me understand this.

Problem: Suppose that f(x) has period 2 and that

f(x) = 0 ; -1 ≤ x ≤ 0
= 1 ; 0 < x < 1

What is the value of L in that? In the video it says it's 1. But how come 1 is the value of L? What is L?

L is from the equation

Thank you very much and I do hope you can help me.

Lightfire

Joined Oct 5, 2010
I have another question:

I do understand that the indefinite integral of cos is sin so okay.

But I am confused how nπx has a indefinite integral of nπx/nπ. I know it used u-substitution. But I am somewhat confused.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Isn't it π?
No, it's not π (though, because there are no units anywhere, you could create a unit that would result in the numerical value being π in that unit compared to it being 2 in whatever units it is actually in.

Actually, Units Nazi that I am, L just has to have the same units as x and both can carry their units without having to explicitly indicate them. So the problem, as given, is internally consistent.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
I have another question:

I do understand that the indefinite integral of cos is sin so okay.

But I am confused how nπx has a indefinite integral of nπx/nπ. I know it used u-substitution. But I am somewhat confused.
It's not that nπx has an integral of nπx/nπ. It's that what you have is

\(
\int \cos(u)du = \sin(u) + C
\)

But you don't have that, you have

\(
\int \cos(ax)dx
\)

So you need to get it into the form of the former in order to use that rule.

If you have u=ax, the du = a dx. So you can rewrite your integral as

\(
\int \cos(ax)\frac{a dx}{a} \ = \ \frac{1}{a}\int \cos(ax) (a dx) \ = \ \frac{1}{a} \sin(ax) + C
\)

Lightfire

Joined Oct 5, 2010

\(
\)

\(
\int \cos(ax)dx
\)

\(