for loop in matlab

moneyk

Joined Feb 26, 2008
Hello matlab experts,

I have implement a for loop that executed certain commands only after particular time intervals for a time range. For example, read voltage every 30 seconds for 30 minutes. How do I implement that in a for loop.

Thank you.

Dave

Joined Nov 17, 2003
Personally I would use a while-loop with some sort of flag (the flag representing the status of your read), i.e. while there is data to read, read it.

To manage the time sampling, you could look at constructing a timer object using the timer function, and then passing that object to the wait function to stage the time sample. All you have to do then is embed your voltage read code within the while-loop padded by the timer at the end of the loop.

Dave

moneyk

Joined Feb 26, 2008
Hi,

thanks for your quick reply. I am actually a beginner in programming and matlab so I am not aware of the timer function. Below is what I am doing:

output_voltage = Measure_voltage (gdm)
dlmwrite(output_file, [time_stamp output_voltage], 'delimiter', '\t', 'newline','pc','-append');

So I am measuring the voltage and writing it in a text file. I want to do this every 10 seconds for say 30 minutes. How do I use the timer function. I looked up timer function in the help menu but am not able to figure it out. The data is always present at the output of the meter. Matlab makes the measurement everytime I call the function Measure_voltage.

Thank you.

Dave

Joined Nov 17, 2003
Hi,

thanks for your quick reply. I am actually a beginner in programming and matlab so I am not aware of the timer function. Below is what I am doing:

output_voltage = Measure_voltage (gdm)
dlmwrite(output_file, [time_stamp output_voltage], 'delimiter', '\t', 'newline','pc','-append');