Fix up pulsed DC signal?

kenw232

Joined May 18, 2009
Hello, I'm an amateur. I'm curious how to increase the integrity of a pulsed DC signal from a mosfet. I have a IRFZ44N that is simply turning a LED on and off. It works fine. When I measure across the LED
with an oscilloscope I see a bit of a wobble in the signal at 0V, see the attachment called without_cap.jpg (circled in green).

So I add a cap in parallel with the LED and then I get with_cap.jpg which helps smoothen out the 0V signal (green circle) but the drop off is curved more (the purple circle) now. Being a novice I don't know what to do to try to get it to cleanly drop off and keep the signal flat when theres suppose to be no voltage. Anyone know what I'm talking about or what would be causing this?

Attachments

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Without a schematic, I'm just guessing, so I guess that the 60 Hz wobble is coming from the power supply or a weak ground on the scope probe.

kenw232

Joined May 18, 2009
I've attached a crude mockup of my circuit. Its very simple. The +5V square wave going into the gate of the mosfet is at a frequency of about 5Hz. I measure across the LED sometimes at A & B or A and -.

Again, I don't know what I'm doing. I just see a bit of a ripple as I mentioned and would like to know what is causing that or how to fix it if anyone knows by any chance.

Note the LED might be backwards in the diagram but it works fine.

Attachments

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012
Are you sure that is direction of the LED? It's reverse-biased. Since it works you didn't hook it up as shown...

Are all off your grounds connected (oscilloscope/power supply/square wave generator)?

BC107C

Joined Apr 3, 2011
IMHO it is the high impendance in the drain causing the noise pickup at the probe.