First time desoldering a connector. Is it ok?

CraiGDaniel

Joined Oct 1, 2012
I have ventured into soldering and i have desoldered an LCD connector off of an iPod touch 4.

However i am unsure as to whether i have damaged anything as it wasn't as streamlined process as i thought and i had to scrape some plastic near the traces etc.

I'm very new to all this so would appreciate any advice!

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
pic is a little blurry so its hard to tell. But in general as long as you didn't lift the pads off the board or break the traces then its usually fine..

oh and good job if this is your first time and you didn't lift a pad... :)

CraiGDaniel

Joined Oct 1, 2012
Thanks mcgyvr that reassuring.

Pads stayed on luckily ! The connector had a plastic base so i just used the iron to melt it all off - i worried that i may have damaged something though as i used a metal tool to scrape off some plastic that remained behind but it doesnt seem as bad as i though!

Cheers

orbiter

Joined Jun 17, 2010
As mentioned it does look ok, as far as can be seen anyway :) Also though.. Make sure you clean the pads, and use plenty of flux when you refit any parts.

If you're going to be doing this kind of thing quite often then an electronics hot air gun can be a great tool to have in your kit. I tend to use an iron for similar stuff but it can be quite tricky with certain components, especially in tight spaces.

In fact I was working on a I-P**** 4 not too long ago (repairing the mainboard) a couple of tiny 0402 parts had been knocked off by someone who'd been digging around with a lever trying to open up the phone. And trying to re-flow such parts in a tight space is a right PITA, so I grabbed the hot air gun, and with a very low flow rate, had some new parts back on in a short time. Unfortunately though that wasn't the reason the phone stopped working :(

CraiGDaniel

Joined Oct 1, 2012