First PCB board which DIY method? Using Kinkos, Staples etc. ?

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
I am about to create my first PCB in a very long time. So I guess I am really a newbie at PCBs.

I have included the PCB layout below. It is not finished. I still need to add the control / multimeter PCB. When it is complete I will post the schematic and PCB layout for peer review when it is complete.

If someone want to make initial comments on my design then that is fine but the purpose of this post is to determine the best method of doing a DIY PCB.

I am posting the layout so a proper assessment can be made. Both boards will be single sided.

First I have no PCB supplies. I am starting fresh. I do not have access to a laserjet printer but would make use of a printing service like Kinkos, if that is what is recommended.

I am also willing to purchase transparencies for my inkjet, if that is the recommendation.

So considering I am a newbie at this and will more than likely be making my own PCBs in the future. What is the best method for me right now?

I know some methods use a sharpie. Maybe a little difficult considering my layout?

There is the transfer method .

There is a transparency exposure method.

I am sure there are more.

What method is best for me? Considering my experience and PCB layout?

Attachments

Last edited:

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
I've been using a laserjet printer and magazine-type paper with a 300°F clothes iron to transfer the toner to copper boards with decent results. I've been using the shiny supermarket ads out of the newspaper. The existing ink doesn't transfer; only the laser toner does.

You can get a laser printer for around $50. That'll save you money in trips to the copy place. You're bound to make a mess out of the first few boards. Don't let that get you down though.

It's hard to comment on your layout, since no components are shown.

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009