First Crossover Network, No Audio

markeduda

Joined Jan 14, 2013
I have been lurking and learning much from these forums for a while now, but the time has come to post my own question.

My brother and I are building a stereo system with our own custom active crossover network. I have had no prior experience with AC circuits, but I have have done a bit with digital and DC.

Our network consists of 8 filters each with ~100 gain; 1 Low Pass with cutoff at 500Hz, 1 Band Pass 500Hz-3.4kHz, 2 Band Pass 500Hz - 2.5kHz, 2 Band Pass 2.5kHz-15kHz, and 2 Band Pass 15kHz-30kHz.

I constructed these in Multisim 11 and used a Function Generator with a sine wave at 100mVp to test them. I connected the outputs to the oscilloscope to check for signs of clipping.

Everything seems to work well in simulation, but I just tried to realize the low pass circuit with a 4ohm speaker, and I get no audio just a snap; as though I had connected it to a DC source.

As I said, I have had limited electronics experience and certainly nothing like this. You guys seem to be very good, so I hope I can get some help.

Attachments

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
The LM4562 is an audio op amp (600 ohm minimum load), not an audio power amp so it cannot drive a 4 ohm speaker. You need to feed the op amp signal into an audio amp.

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
Rather ambitious for a first project. :)

Try implementing a single low pass active filter, and put a frequency generator on 20hz-20khz sweep on the input (Or an MP3 of same sweep through an MP3 player), then see what you get for the output.

Step by step.

markeduda

Joined Jan 14, 2013