First Circuit Design Project

captivated

Joined Apr 4, 2010
This is my first time designing an actual circuit. I'm a sophomore in college and was wondering if i could get some help.
I'm trying to design a BJT Amplifier (npn) that has the following specifications:
-9v battery operation
-Rin>5000 Ω (100-7KHz)
-rout<500 Ω(100-7KHz)
-Midband voltage gain 10V/V (from source to output a with a 1k load capacitively coupled connected
-upper 3db frequency cutoff 7KHz
-lower 3db frequency cutoff<100KHz
-circuit must have bias stability β values between 50 and 200
(nominal value 100)

Source may be modeled as a thevenin equivalent having a sinusodial output of 50mV, 100-20KHz and Rs-50 Ω. Minimize power consumption in your design.

I don't know where to start nor do I have an idea what I'm doing. I'm supposed to use SPICE amongst all this to figure it out. What is the Midband voltage gain? How do I do this?
:confused:

hobbyist

Joined Aug 10, 2008
Hi,
see if this helps any.

Here are a couple equations I came up with to determine RE and RC in terms of total input resistance required.

RT is the total specified INPUT resistance, this case > 5K.
RB is the parrallel combination of the 2 base resistors, this needs to be larger than RT.
Bmin is the specified min. beta.
Av is the chosen voltage gain for a stage.

equations:

1.) RE = RT*RB / {Bmin.*(RB-RT) }

2.) RC = Av.*RT*RB / {Bmin.*(RB-RT)}

Using #1,
is good for determining what value of RE could be chosen to obtain the specified overall input resistance. Using this equation, different values of RB could be substituted to acquire a RE value close to what you would need to have the proper bias voltage at the collector for linear operation, per given input signal voltage.

Using #2.
is good for making a quick determination, if the input resistance needed and the output resistance specified, are going to work for one stage, or would you need another stage.