Finding parts

CVMichael

Joined Aug 3, 2007
I don't understand why after this long there is still no web-site that can provide a service for finding parts needed for our electronics projects.

I spend hours just to find one (or a few parts). It's as if everyone assumes that we already have in our heads a dictionary with all the parts that have ever existed.

For example I am trying to find some logic gates, but I need it within certain specs, one of those is an 8-input OR gate that can go up to 60MHz (or more). Yesterday I spent like 2-3 hours on the net, and I still did not find the part number. And that is just one single example.

I am a programmer by profession, it would not be too hard for me to develop the database and the web application to store this kind of information, but the problem is adding all the parts in the database. Unless I get some volunteers to enter this data in the database, or maybe I should allow anyone to post data in it ?

If there is already such a web-site, it's probably kept secret, because I did not find any...

someonesdad

Joined Jul 7, 2009
I don't understand why after this long there is still no web-site that can provide a service for finding parts needed for our electronics projects.
I think you pretty much self-answered the question. It would be a large effort to track down all the information, vet it, keep it current, and ensure that it doesn't get contaminated by people who have a hidden agenda.

CVMichael

Joined Aug 3, 2007
If you go to manufacturer's web sites
I don't even know what manufacturer(s) make these parts, and what about other kind of parts, how would I know what manufacturer makes each kind of part that I would need in my projects ?

What I meant to say in my previous post, is there a common web-site, say something like Wikipedia, but for electronic parts ?

Looking at the link you provided, I see that ECL family provides the speed that I'm looking for. Now how can I get a list of ECL logic gates ?

SgtWookie