filters

arun2009

Joined Aug 30, 2010
hi frnds im new to electronics,kindly answer my questions
I was doing a lpf and hpf using both rc and opamp. It worked for the desired freq but it is also accepting a wide range of freq outside the desired range, for eg:if i designed a 1khz lpf, output is obtaing for upto 25khz??there is no problem wit my ckt design??can u help me in figuring out d problm???

Regards

marshallf3

Joined Jul 26, 2010
It's either misdesigned, misassembled or the Q of the circuit wasn't that high to begin with. No filter is perfect, they usually attentuate by a certain amount of dB per octave - per pole of the filter.

A single pole LPF is usuaully 6 dB/octave.

arun2009

Joined Aug 30, 2010
thanks for your reply..
I will explain wat i hav done, i used a .1uf cap and 1k resistor..with which i'll get a RC lpf having cut off freq of 1.592k hz. As i was new i tought dat lpf will not pass freq greater than dis, but later i understood that it will reduce the signal amp after 1.5 k hz,dis is wat expected rt?..but for me the signal was getting distorted after 1k hz itself..kindly give some suggestions and corrections if im wrong.
Thanks and regards
Arun

marshallf3

Joined Jul 26, 2010
Can't say as I've ever seen such a high value resistor in a crossover circuit - except perhaps in some of the most complicated and expensive ones in the HPF section.

You're dealing with 8 ohm (or somewhere thereabouts) loads driven by an amplifier with a low output impedance.

Can you make some sort of a sketch of what you're trying to hook all together and how? Knowing the model # of the speakers involved would be of great help too.

Given that, I'd be glad to design you a simple, inexpensive yet effective crossover solution.

gootee

Joined Apr 24, 2007
thanks for your reply..