Fighting a 12F675...

Dodgy Geezer

Joined Nov 30, 2009
I have been able to cut some simple code for a PIC, though I am still a rank beginner.

From another forum I was provided with some hex for a project which I needed to write to a 12F675. I have a Vellerman 8048 programmer; I was using the Vellerman ProgPic2 code, and worked out that I needed to 'load' the hex file and then write it. XP is the OS.

My first attempts didn't work - incompatible serial port, and I'm not sure that I copied the hex correctly - but then I found an old laptop that seemed to recognise the programmer. I think I wrote the hex to a pic, but when I tried to read that pic the programmer board would not recognise that there was a pic onboard. I could recognise an unwritten pic in my programmer, but whatever I had done to the first one seemed to have left it uncontactable.

I think I was able to erase it using WinPIC, but this didn't get it recognised again. Have I ruined it somehow, or can someone suggest a way to talk to it again?

Dodgy Geezer

Joined Nov 30, 2009
Hex file is from here: http://www.giantcod.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=3050

Interesting project! I have done a bit of research, and found some people saying that the Velleman 8048 programmer has a bit of a bug, and won't recognise or erase Pic 12F675s if they are coded with a program that holds one output high.. Unfortunately, that data was hard to find - I bookmarked it meaning to study it at length, and then my system went down and I lost the reference - haven't found it again yet...

Dodgy Geezer

Joined Nov 30, 2009
Unfortunately, I am working with an 8048!

I know the 8048 works - I have written pics with it in the past, but I have never tried to take a hex file and write that. I am having all sorts of basic problems - for instance, the hex is given in lines of 24bytes, each starting with a : Look at the reference to see what I mean.