Fan speed control for a hot air popcorn popper

outonbail

Joined Sep 22, 2013
Hi, I've been using a hot air popcorn popper to roast coffee. I started over a year ago and it's been great -- best coffee ever! I bought a PID controller and wired it to switch the heating element, that is working great. But I would still like to be able to adjust the fan speed and I have no idea how to do that. Coffee beans get significantly less dense as they roast so the perfect fan speed at the start of the roast is far too fast by the end of the roast. The result is coffee beans flying all over, getting broken or chipped etc.

I'm a complete amateur when it comes to electronics so I'm here seeking advice on my options. I believe it would be a mistake to attempt using a potentiometer to change the fan speed, my understanding is that the electromagnetic motor is built to run on a specific current and that using a potentiometer to alter the current will likely damage the motor in the long run. I know that Home Depot sells fan speed controllers for ceiling fans -- is that an option or is that a completely absurd idea? Any suggestions?

Thanks for your help.

-Dave.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
In addition to what Bernard as asked for, how do you want to control the fan speed, by temperature? Timer? Manual?

tracecom

Joined Apr 16, 2010
Hi, I've been using a hot air popcorn popper to roast coffee.
If you have a minute, I would be interested in knowing to what extent the caffeine that is extracted from the beans during roasting accumulates in the popper, how do you remove it, and what do you do with it?

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Seems as though you want some kind of thermal sensing element (thermocouple) that controls the fan in a scaled analogue fashion that gradually reduces the fan speed as the temp rises?
Max.

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012