Extremely low voltage without reducing current

mpk1123

Joined Jun 9, 2011
hi everyone,I'm a beginner in electronics and have been learning my way through forums.
I have a 5v DC 0.6 A power supply .
I need to use this to get a voltage somewhere in the range of 0.5 - 1 V which i intend to use to run a 5.9V dc motor at extremely low speeds.
The dc motor I have is scavenged from an optical pickup of a cd player which i broke up from my old cd player and i dont know much of its specifications except that it is a 5.9 V dc motor .Also I tried varying the voltage using a lab power supply unit and i observed that the motor speed increases on increasing the voltage.I hope this helps to determine the type of the motor.

I tried using 100 k pot connected to the centre tap of a voltage divider to reduce the voltage.But the current i got was too low to run the motor.
I got a current of 0.5 mA at 0.6 V.As i said,this wasnt enough to run the motor.
I need atleast 100 mA of current to be on the safer side.The motor usually starts working at a current of .05 A.Also another requirement i have is that i need a very fine handle to vary the voltage, something that would give a resolution of .01 or .001 V.

Thanks in advance

Dyslexicbloke

Joined Sep 4, 2010
Thats not a good way to run a motor ... But ...
A voltage regulator will do wht you want, look at LM317 which is easy to use and basically indistructable, unless you try realy hard.

A motor generates voltage when it spinns, its called back EMF (Electro Motive Force).
As it speeds up it generates more voltage and therfore draws less current which is why it dosnt just keep getting fasrter ....
Slow it down with a load, making it do more work, and the back EMF drops so it draws more current in responce to the load but it is also turning slower.

When the relationship is linear it is very wide because the "Torque", turning force, is directly related to the power which in turn is Volts X Amps.