Ex. 1.9 Sedra Smith

sandman42

Joined Aug 22, 2007
Hi,

I'm studying sedra smith's microelectronic circuits, 5th ed.

I'm trying exercise 1.9, but I don't agree with results.

Exercise says:"An amplifier operating from a single 15 V supply provides a 12 V peak to peak sine wave signal to a 1 kohm load and draws negligible input current from signal source.. The DC current drawn from the 15V supply is 8 mA. What is the power dissipated in the amplifier and what is the ampifier efficiency?

I said:

Pdc= Vdc * Idc = 12 * 0.08 = 120 mW
Pload = (Vo /sqrt(2))^2/Rl = 72 mW

Pdiss + Pl = Pdc + Pi

Since no current is drawn from source, Pi=0 =>

Pdiss = Pdc-Pl = 48 mW

efficiency=Pl/Pdc = 60%.

Answer says: 102mw, 15%.

I trust prof Sedra & Smith, :D, but what's wrong in my thoughts?:confused::confused::confused:

Thanks a lot!!!!

sandman42

Joined Aug 22, 2007
Look carefully at the question concerning the voltage at the load and your calculation of the power in the load.
I'm a double chump!!!! I haven't seen your attachment, and I've not thought that 12Vpp means 12 v between the positive slope and the negative!!!!!!!

Thanks for your help!

One more question: what do you use to type the formulas?

panic mode

Joined Oct 10, 2011
hello troublesome,