Engineer vs. Tech

jaygatsby

Joined Nov 23, 2011

Occasionally I see some subtle anti-tech hate on here, so I wanted to get some feeback from the masses.

I started off as a tech. Did military, then years as a tech. I worked with engineers, and realized that I knew vastly more than they did about tech. I could intuitively understand solutions for problems involving things like code, web, radio and satcom, whereas they knew numbers and how to conform to standards.

The engineers knew their topic. But seemed to have problems with flexibility. Seemed to be unable to span a broad range of technology. An EE seems to always suck at coding. A radio guy is confused by Unix or web technologies.

I made vast sums of money as a tech. Because I was very, very good. More than I'll ever make as an engineer, I think... but now I am in engineering school. It's hard, it gives me epiphanies and teaches me wonderful things. Aside from the military, it's the best professional decision I've ever made.

Having experienced both, I still think that techs are more capable of forming technology to their will than an engineer is. An engineer... actually a team of them, can make something through trial and error. But a good tech can form solutions out of relatively nothing, and all by his lonesome.

And PS - I am annoyed by the engineer stereotype... 'Hey look I like Dilbert. I'm so wacky. Dressing terribly is just who we are; cuz we're smart or somethin'! Neat, huh? Oh Lol, I haven't had a date in years.' Techs can be snappy dressers, with girlfriends. And smart at the same time.

Finally, techs often come from a different background. They are self-starters. Engineers were put through college by their parents.

Discuss.

Last edited:

Georacer

Joined Nov 25, 2009
You didn't like the stereotypical despise towards the techs, but you seem to have fit the EEs into a tight mold.

You gotta think both ways.

Georacer

Joined Nov 25, 2009