EMI or random radio interfearance

rp mccann

Joined Jul 29, 2014
Please excuse a possible dumb question, I have just discovered this wonderful and informative site, in fact I haven't left it for over 2 hours until I just joined, but here goes.

I seem to remember a few newspaper artistic here in the US (New York specifically) where a few mobility chairs suddenly darted out into traffic, causing accidents and injury. The conclusion was in one case, a taxi radio transmission, and the others had to do with police radios being used, causing some type of EMF (I assume). These were with "home made" controller circuits

Is this no longer a problem that occurred, or is the solution being built into the circuits shown (just not identified)?

I used to be a electronic repair tech for 37 years from tubes to surface mount until a hit and run car accident left me in my limited mobility, so I am now real slow in attempting to build projects again, but both of my scooters now appear to have bad controllers (a Rascal and a Golden) and I cannot afford to pay for repair out of pocket, and wish to build, but with safety for myself and others are a big concern.

thank yo for your time and efforts with this great site, and my assistance I can be given (peace of mind) over the question. I currently live north of Seattle WA USA, and am getting so tired of just looking out the window

I hope I have posted this in the correct area, I am referring to Electronic Mobility Chairs for those of us who have problems walking now a days, if this is the wrong location, please forgive my ignorance.

Last edited:

mitko89

Joined Sep 20, 2012
I'm not one of the seniors of the forum, but would like to welcome you.
As far as I understand from your post you wish to build control circuit for your scooter?

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
Sorry to tell you that even an experienced person generally pays more $$$ to build a single unit then to buy the equivalent device.

Have you checked Amazon? EBay? Alibaba?