Electronic Guitar Project

nradam123

Joined Dec 3, 2013
I want to start a project where i can club electronics and manufacturing together with something that i like doing. I like to play the guitar, so i am thinking of making an electronic guitar with probably multitouch gestures (or something else) that simulates the feeling of an acoustic guitar.

The problem is, I am basically a recent mechanical engineering graduate working in a pretty bada$$ core manufacturing company :)

But then i want to jump out of my domain and see what other things have to offer. I have good fundamentals in programming (C++, Java, Matlab etc) and i am good at designing (ProE, Solidworks) and okay in analyzing (Ansys). I can program in CNC (Fanuc and Sinumerik) also kinda well.

I have done a course in Control Systems in college and i am clear with the basic mathematics behind it and i am really fascinated by it. I am also fascinated by electronics and especially microcontroller programming, but i never went into it although i always wanted to. My roommate used to program in 8051 and atmega micro controllers but then i never bothered to ask him much about it because i was busy with my own coursework and thesis.

But now i really want to start getting into electronics, especially microcontrollers because i have realized that pure mechanical engineering is hardly used these days without electronics.

So the question is, what knowledge do u think i will need inorder to make this project come alive? All i can handle now is the design part. It will be helpful if u can tell me somewhere where i can start right now, i will built it up from there.

Thanks in advance :)

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
By 'electronic guitar' do you mean one which generates tones via plucked strings and then electronically processes signals created by the strings; or one in which the tones are synthesised electronically and then processed?

nradam123

Joined Dec 3, 2013