Electrohome air conditionner dont start but buzz

weeb0

Joined Jun 13, 2005
Hi,
I have an old 10.000 btu electrohome air conditionner. I used it last summer was working fine , and now I try to start it and the fan don't work anymore. I hear something buzzing (like a big transformer or something). The compressor is working fine, but the fan don't work. Since your great in electronics, do somebody knows what could be wrong ? and how to fix it ? I'm an electronic technician & engineer, so I think I'll be able to fix it.

Thank you.

thingmaker3

Joined May 16, 2005
One likely culprit for the buzzing is the fan motor. I've experienced more than one motor buzzing when it froze up.

If it were me, I would start by checking the motor windings and starter capacitor (if any) with an ohm-meter. If I decided the meter gave a good result, I would proceed with a good cleaning and some lubrication.

n9xv

Joined Jan 18, 2005
Sounds like the fan motor. They usually work off 120-VAC. You can varify that first by checking the connections with a VOM meter. If thats the case then disconnect it and run a separate 120-Volt line to the motor and see if it still acts the same way - buzzez but wont turn. If so replace and try again. The fan motor will probably set you back $30 to $60 depending on the size. You might get lucky and find a shop that sells used motors too! Good luck and stay cool.

Erin G.

Joined Mar 3, 2005
If the motor was electrically burned out it probably wouldn't make any noise at all, and would more than likely blow fuses or trip a breaker somewhere every time it tried to start. The part that burns up the most on these is the start capacitor. When the fan tries to start and only makes the buzzing noise, give the fan blade a spin with your finger (be careful!) and see if it starts. If so, replace the cap. If the fan doesn't spin freely, the motor bearings are out and it's time for a new motor.