EE Student Seeking Advice (First Job)

jegues

Joined Sep 13, 2010
Hello all,

I'm just looking for some advice. A little background on myself, I'm an engineering student in my 3rd year of university out of my 5 year engineering program. I've got fairly good grades, GPA ~ 4.1 out of 4.5.

I recently just started my first "engineering" related job working with a small engineering firm that does consulting work for substations. (Usually controls for substations etc.)

Sadly, all the work I've done so far is EXTREMELY boring. All I've been doing is redrawing old drawings (~1962) of systems & devices in AutoCAD, none of which are even clearly explained to me beforehand.

The group I'm with only has 1 P. Eng, and the other two workers are drafting guys who have no formal training with anything electrical.
Basically what happens is the P. Eng marks up any drawings with the changes that need to be made for a given project, and the drafting people redraw/correct it.

I feel like I'm doing the work of a DRAFTING student, not an ENGINEERING student. There is literally no aspect of my work that requires any type of problem solving or any of the theory I've learnt at school, just mindless drafting.

I enjoyed all the theory and everything I've learnt at school up to now, I find that stuff super interesting! Some examples of what I'm referring to would be anything related to electrical circuits, for example, Amplifier Design using BJTs, or designing systems using Microprocessing Systems, or solving problems using Digital Logic, but sadly I haven't got use any of this knowledge at work.

Is this typical for the type of work(i.e. redrawing old drawings in AutoCAD) given to undergraduate engineering students or even EIT's?

This has given me an extreme scare of how BORING working in industry as an engineer can be, and turned me away from the "Power Systems" area of specialization all together.

Someone care to share their work experiences in this field/others?