EE needs help with ME calculations

elimenohpee

Joined Oct 26, 2008
Hi everyone,

I'm an EE student, and I'm designing a robot for a senior design. I'm at the point where I need to design for the motors I'm using, but I'm not great with mechanical systems. Specifically I'm having trouble figuring out the torque I need my motors to provide.

These are the parameters I've worked out.
mass = 2kg
wheel radius = 0.0381m
max velocity robot needs to move = 0.31 m/s
rpm = 90
acceleration to max velocity = 1 m/s^2

I need 2 driving motors based on these specifications, but I'm not sure I'm calculating it correctly. I was assuming the force the motor would have to push would be weight, but this results in a large torque:

torque = force * distance = mass * acceleration (gravity)* distance = 0.748 Nm or 0.374 Nm per motor.

How does the acceleration of the motor play into this calculation? I assumed it would be a sum of gravity and the acceleration of the motor, and when the motor reaches the max velocity, the motor acceleration falls out leaving only the acceleration due to gravity.

Those torque values just seem a little to large to after searching around for motors. Most of the motors on maxonmotors.com are rated for mN*m, so this torque I have is about 100times greater than some of the "average" price motors they have. Can anyone validate or correct my calculation?

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
You are looking at the torque at thousands to tens of thousands RPM. Add a gearhead to the motor and it should be just fine. Maxon sells the gearheads separately.

The one I looked at the top of the list for brushed DC motor had these specs:

Assigned power rating W 0.5 Nominal voltage V 6 No load speed min-¹ 12600 Stall torque mNm 1.63 Max. continuous torque mNm 0.921
When that is geared down to 90 RPM, it will exceed your requirements, be sure to have PWM control for speed. Maxon motors are simply the best, and outperform just about everything else in the same size range.