Dynamic Load Bank

rosenn

Joined Dec 9, 2012
Hello all,

I am new to this forum. I'm a surgeon who ages ago was much into electronics, minored in EE. Still quite handy, but my circuit design knowledge base has decayed significantly. I'm trying to design/build a dynamic resistive load bank for a 5k Diesel Generator set. I want to keep the two hot legs of the 240 line balanced, and the whole thing running at no less than 60% load. I am interested in building two paired load banks that do the following:

1. Sense the current running through a generator output source line
2. When the current is less than 15 amps (high side), the load bank is activated and adds load to that line. When current is over 15 amps, the load bank is off.
3. The amount of load added is equal to 15 amps minus the actual loading on the line This ensures that no matter what is one in the house, the generator is always loaded at a minimum of 60%, and it stays happy.

I know one could easily do this manually with light bulbs, or space heaters, and while I'm open to using them for loading (as opposed to very pricey grid resistors), I'm interested in solutions that allow continuous variability in loading, and the sensing component so that when the family turns off a television, I don't have to run to the garage and turn on a light bulb.

Any guidance would be most appreciated. One thing I'm not considering is some scheme to raise and lower rods in a bucket of salt water - sure, it would work, but that's not the direction I'd like to take this. thanks,

Nelson

Joined Nov 30, 2010
This request is so strange that I have to do something I rarely do...ask why.

My first instinct is, "Fix the generator" so it runs like all the others, adjusting itself to the load as required. That is pretty presumtious, so I ask, why do you want a self regulating load on a machine that is supposed to regulate itself?

rosenn

Joined Dec 9, 2012