DVR not being able to record from b/w surveillance cameras

lighthouse

Joined Jun 13, 2013
I own a DVR (emtec movie cube v850h) which can record from a composite video input. If I plug in a color surveillance camera, I can preview the video and record it with no problem, but If I plug in a b/w camera (CCIR) despite of being able to preview the image, when I try to record it it says "no signal".

It happens with all b/w cameras, so I think my DVR doesn't like the b/w video levels or something and it doesn't detect the signal as a valid video source (but it previews it fine).

Is there anything I can do? I use the DVR for surveilance and being able to record b/w signals is a must. Could it be a matter of adjusting the peak levels or something? I have basic knowledge of electronics.

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks.

lighthouse

Joined Jun 13, 2013
Thanks Brownout, I already did that. They replied to me that the unit works correctly with any standard composite video device. I've had the DVR for several years now and I can't return it... It's not a faulty unit, I suppose they didn't design it for b/w signals.

I was just wondering if I could do something to de video signal so that my DVR likes it.

Brownout

Joined Jan 10, 2012
They replied to me that the unit works correctly with any standard composite video device. ... It's not a faulty unit, I suppose they didn't design it for b/w signals
If they didn't design it for b/w signals, then they can't claim it works with any standard composite video device.

lighthouse

Joined Jun 13, 2013
Yes, the camera has a composite analog output and it is connected to the composite video input. I have been using a color camera for some years now, but I need the b/w now because it has a higher sensitivity. There is no problem with the connection or the camera because my DVR previews the signal on TV with no problems.

gerty

Joined Aug 30, 2007