Dual Potentiometer Interference

joshmac

Joined Jan 16, 2013
Hello everybody,

First of all, I apologise if this topic has been already been discussed, I have searched, however, I haven't found anywhere that gives an answer, most problems were MCU code based. Also thank you in advance for any help given. I have been designing electronic circuits for many years now, however, my knowledge is primarily digitally based, so it doesn't really help me in this situation.

The Circuit:
I am using a Tronix DACIO 300 (fantastic little device) with 2x Parallax potentiometer 2-axis joysticks, they are 10KΩ each axis. I have written a small VB application to display the information on progress bars on screen. That part was simple and has given me no problems. The joysticks are connected to the DACIO with a 6" piece of cable to ensure there is almost no loss or floating resistance in the cable.

The Problem:
I believe the potentiometers are interfering with each other. When Joystick 1 is for example fully forward (0Ω to the DACIO), it basically nulls the Joystick 2 and visa versa, however individually they work with no problems at all. I think this may be because they are sharing the same 5v rail and sharing the same 0v rail. The board is responding with no communication errors.

I have written a program to monitor all of the analog inputs on the DACIO and I have found they the ones that are not connected do have floating voltages (Could this cause issues?).

Things I have tried, but have had no luck:
I have added a decoupling capacitor across the potentiometers.
I have added a 10k resistor in series with both the pots to try and lower mAh draw.
I have replaced the 10k resistors with diodes in an attempt to isolate the pots.
I have tested the PCB with the joysticks on seperatly and they are outputing fine.
I have replaced the DACIO pcb and IC.

Thank you in advance and any help is appreciated.
Josh

Attachments

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009