dual axis solar tracker project help

prem25

Joined Feb 14, 2011
Hi All,

I hope some would be able to help. I know the post is really long but please bear with me and read through you would find the project to be interesting!

I have a solar tracker project that I am working on right now. Its a dual axis solar tracker that I am building at them moment. The two axis are turned using 2 separate 12Volts DC motors which obviously are powered from a 12Volts XAmpsHour lead acid battery. I am a complete noob in electronics so please bear with me. Having a mechanical background the manufacture and building of the solar tracker was not a problem and have completed that already. I do not have the real pictures of the already manufactured tracker prototype but the PRO/E designs.

Please see the attachment below to understand the prototype better.
Attachment description: Assembly view of the solar tracker. Note the worm gear on the left, the sensor on the right, and a turntable bearing at the bottom. Also note that vertical axis motion is not displayed here. That axis (or the shaft on that axis) would be coming just from the middle of the turntable bearing to the top of the absolute base (which is shown in wodden appearance here). Design made and analysed for typical stresses and motor torque requirements on Pro / E.

Right now I am trying to do the PCBs. Basically, there are going to be 4 PCBs (Can have one single PCB and all circuitry in it but I am just going to go with separate PCBs for separate workings).

• Motor Description:-
  • Horizontal Axis / Vertical rotaing plane / East-West
    12 Volts DC motor
    15 RPM