Double H-Bridge

nickkelbackk

Joined Mar 15, 2008
I am new to electronics and am building a project for my class. My idea is a turrent. It will house a motor that rotates the turrent, a motor that tilt the turrent that sits atop the other motor and also a motor to fire the turrent. It will be decently small. Anyways, I am thinking about using an H-bridge to rotate and tilt and fire. I was wondering if anybody knows of a way to do this with momentary switchs(one rotates right, one rotates left, one tilts up, and one tilts down). Also another momentary switch to spin the third motor and fire the turrent. This third motor only needs to spin one way so no h-bridge is neccesary. Another question I had is if there is any to do this with a joystick. here are the motors I was planning to use:

http://www.hobbyplace.com/robotics/gearbox.php
2 of the high power, high efficency motors to rotate and tilt the turrent and one of the high efficency worm gear box to fire the turrent.

If you are wondering how I am doing to fire the turrent then you only need to look at how an airsoft gun fires. It works like this: The gear on the motor, which only has teeth on half of it meshes with a rack that has the same number of teeth as the gear. The rack is mounted on a cylinder of some sort with a spring on the inside. When the motor spins the gear spins meshing with the rack on the cylinder which makes the cylinder move back and compress the spring behind it. Then when the gear and the rack go through all the teeth the cylinder fires moves forward flinging anything that was in front of it out of the way.

If you have any questions please post.

Sincerely,
Nickkelbackk

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
This could be a fun project. You might want to look up material on naval gun turrets for some ideas about how it was done. For that matter, tank turrets and aircraft gun turrets.