Double Flash Strobe Effect

jaxx709

Joined Sep 9, 2013
Hello to all. Go easy on me its my first time both on here and creating circuits.

I am currently building a model that calls for some very specific lighting effects. No 1 - I need a circuit to control just a few LED's (4 to 6) to produce a 100ms Double flash strobe with a 1 second delay. My investigations so far suggest only a programmed PIC chip could achieve this. Is this correct?

No 2 - I need 2 red LED's to increase and decrease in brightness every 1 to 2 seconds. Just a nice glow without turning off altogether.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated as I want to plan out before assembly and painting so I don't get stuck later.

Cheers

elec_mech

Joined Nov 12, 2008
I believe you can do this with two 555 ICs. One set as astable with a 1Hz frequency and the other as monostable with a 0.1s time. The astable would trigger the monostable. Check out this site for more info.

As for the glowing, check out Bill Marsden's blog, specifically the section about throbbing and fading LEDs.

ronv

Joined Nov 12, 2008
No 1 - I need a circuit to control just a few LED's (4 to 6) to produce a 100ms Double flash strobe with a 1 second delay.
Not sure I understand this to well. Do you mean 100 ms flash, wait 1 second then flash again for 100 ms. Or flash for 100 ms some delay flash again?
My investigations so far suggest only a programmed PIC chip could achieve this. Is this correct?
It would be less hardware (logic) with a PIC, but it could be done in logic - I think. ;)

No 2 - I need 2 red LED's to increase and decrease in brightness every 1 to 2 seconds. Just a nice glow without turning off altogether
Give us an idea how big the LEDs are and what you plan to use for power. Can you read a schematic and solder?

[/quote]

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008
There are multiple strobes in a bottle, if it works: You Tube, Susan Kunkel, video , ship behind bottle. Uses 4060 and gates.

ScottWang

Joined Aug 23, 2012