Does current exist when there is no voltage?

JasonL

Joined Jul 1, 2011
Hi, I'm a newbie here. I've been reading the ebook on this site.

I read that there's 0v across "electrically common" points. If the voltage across electrically common points is 0 then doesn't that make current 0 according to ohm's law I = E/R? If current is 0 then doesn't that contradict the statement that current is constant in a series circuit? I'm a bit confused here. Can someone point me in the right direction?

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
I'm not sure what you are reading but here goes:

A voltage can only exist between TWO points. Saying there is a group of "electrically common points" is saying this is assumes to be one common piece, say a good hunk of metal that several items are connected to. There can be currents flowing into and out of this hunk while the voltage is still zero as it is one point, not two points.

To continue on with ohm's law use it in the form V = I * R, and when R is zero then V is also zero even if there is a current.

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
The problem you have created is to make up a 'voltage' for the common point.

If you have ZERO volts then you don't have a voltage therefore you have no current.

The ohms law you quoted is not applicable for ZERO volts.

When you DO have current flow, then SOMEWHERE there is a voltage that is not ZERO.

JasonL

Joined Jul 1, 2011
oh i see, it's because even though i picked two points that were electrically common that was still basically only one point. That makes so much sense I didn't see that. Thanks for the swift reply!

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009
The problem you have created is to make up a 'voltage' for the common point.

If you have ZERO volts then you don't have a voltage therefore you have no current.

The ohms law you quoted is not applicable for ZERO volts.

When you DO have current flow, then SOMEWHERE there is a voltage that is not ZERO.
Unless it's a superconductor. ;)

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007