Do I need an oscillosocope?

Markza

Joined Oct 19, 2012
I'm new to the hobby and just wanted to know what test equipment I need for a test I'm trying to do. Basically I want to find the time difference between two inputs. I have a 12V air control valve and a 5V pressure sensor. I want to engage the air valve and find the time it takes for the pressure sensor to trigger a certain voltage, according to the manufacturer it should be under 15ms, basically from the time of engagement to the sensor detects it. Can the newer digital oscilloscopes take screenshots/freeze frames or calculate the time of two different input triggers? I only have about $400 to spend too.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
After just reading your question I wanted to say "yes." A good scope will allow you to literally see things you could only imagine. An analog scope excels in periodic signals, those that happen over and over. Digital scopes can capture a single event and display it forever. The latest scopes have huge memories to store several seconds of information thus allowing you to see things that happen *before* the trigger fires.

So yes, measuring a 15 mS interval is fallin' off a log simple for a digital scope. You may be able to see it on an analog scope too, but getting a precise measurement is troublesome.

BillO

Joined Nov 24, 2008
Just to add to Ernie's reply, you can easily buy something like a 100MHz dual-trace digital storage scope for your $400. If you have it to spend, and you plan to be involved in electronics has a hobby or as a vocation, you will not regret the expenditure.

Markza

Joined Oct 19, 2012
I was thinking of getting the "Owon, SDS6062 60MHz 500MS/s 10Mpt 2-Ch Oscilloscope" plus it seems to have a lot of extras that I can use further down the road. Do you think this is a good oscilloscope for my current needs. I found it for $349 @ Saelig.com

BillO

Joined Nov 24, 2008