DIY Arduino PLC - Stepping 12/24V down to 5V

Ryan Jones

Joined Aug 27, 2016
Hey, everyone!

I am working on designing my own circuit and had some questions on typical procedure.

At work I use an Arduino PLC called the Controllino which operates at 12V *OR* 24V logic, either works, and no settings need to be changed. I wanted to design something similar using an Atmega328p, which of course, runs on 5V logic. Ideally, I need mine to operate at 12/24V just as the Controllino does. Upon doing my research (self-taught EE and hobbyist), I can figure out several different ways to step down EITHER 12V or 24V separately using voltage dividers, regulators, or a resistor/diode network, but can't seem to figure out how a single circuit can operate automatically at one or the other.

Basically, I know how to step down voltage to 5V but can't figure out how the input voltage can be 12V or 24V without using separate circuits. I hope this makes sense. Can anyone shed some light?

Thanks in advance!

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Typically industrial PLC's use opto isolation between I/O, you could do the same.
If neccesary use a regulator to drop to 5v for the micro.
Max.

Ryan Jones

Joined Aug 27, 2016
Typically industrial PLC's use opto isolation between I/O, you could do the same.
If neccesary use a regulator to drop to 5v for the micro.
Max.
Thanks, Max!

Are there any limitations to optocouplers? Should most of them be able to handle up to 24V dependent on the circuit existing outside of the IC?

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Are there any limitations to optocouplers?
Certainly. They use external resistors on both ends to make them current driven and current controlled output, so there is no problem with the voltage aspect. The "transfer ratio" of current in for current out is sometimes pretty lame. That's what datasheets are for.;)

Ryan Jones

Joined Aug 27, 2016