divide by 330 counter

starplus

Joined Jun 17, 2013
Hi experts,

I am a newbie in electronics, with very little basic knowledge in designing circuits.

I am in need of a circuit for divided by 330 counter. The attached circuit is designed by me. Could you please review the circuit to check whether it will work as a divide by 330 counter?

The main concern is connecting the Q2(output 3) of the third CD4017 to it's ENABLE pin to maintain the high status of Q2 so that when next time the second IC counts 3 , both the inputs of the AND gate will go high which will reset the decade counters.

Actually I have 555 timer, CD4017 and MM74C926N in hand.

your help is highly appreciated so that I will not fry my ICs making wrong connections.

Regards,
AR

Attachments

absf

Joined Dec 29, 2010
Pin 13 is the enable (active low) for the 4017. Why are you tying it to Q2 on the 3rd 4017?

Your connections would make it count <200. Did you try setting up one 4017 and step it with a push button to see how many pulses to reach Q9? I think you should use the CO (carry out) at pin 12.

Have you tried the circuit on the breadboard?

Allen

davebee

Joined Oct 22, 2008
I think you have the right idea; detect the "330" count and reset when it is detected, but I haven't worked through your logic for correctness.

My response is to make two points - first, as long as you are careful to not connect two outputs together, you shouldn't damage anything.

Second, and this can get tricky, if a reset signal that is generated by combining the outputs of multiple logic chips is used to reset multiple logic chips, then it can happen that one chip gets reset and cancels the reset signal before all chips get fully reset. That can be very difficult to troubleshoot. One solution to that case would be to extend the reset pulse by using a discrete one-shot pulse generator to produce a fixed-width reset pulse.

starplus

Joined Jun 17, 2013
Wow!!! 74 views and two replies in two hours. I love this forum.