Display controller

Edmunds

Joined Sep 27, 2010
Hi all,

I have the following (pics below) displays laying around that I salvaged from CISCO IP phones nobody wanter anymore. I have built a CNC mill/engraver/laser cutter/plotter/3D printer thing and now want to make the "control box" of the beast to look nice and complete with a display. I would like to use the aforementioned thing. It could potentially show 100+ different things about the state of the machine, but printing a "HELLO!" for starters would be cool :).

I have no previous experience with displays like this. I have done several projects with 7 segment displays, but I believe this is the type of thing, where you draw each pixel separately. First, I need to figure out, what or at least what kind of thing this is. Please help.

Next, I need to know which way to look for a suitable driver chip. What would work with this particular display and what experiences people have with different options. If there are different options.

The logic will be driven by PICAXE chip, since this is what I feel most comfortable with and I can see no rocket science tasks for the particular application to try to learn something more powerful at this point. Feel free to correct me, if you think I'm wrong.

Thank you all for your time reading or more so, replying! And have a good weekend :).

http://s1243.photobucket.com/user/sprudzsedmunds/embed/slideshow/

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
I believe this chip is already on your display and is used to drive the LCD.
You need this info in order to control it from your mcu. A PICAXE is too slow for this application.

Edmunds

Joined Sep 27, 2010
I believe this chip is already on your display and is used to drive the LCD.
Thank you and sorry for an early question maybe as I worked that out while waiting for your answer :).

A PICAXE is too slow for this application.