Diode question

help_mum

Joined Sep 13, 2012
I have a problem with what Diode to use. I need to protect the regulator and circuit from the V+ side of an AC input.
The plugs are 3 pin and reversable Yes I know get a differant plug but these are the only ones I can find that will fit. Schematic included I hope.
I'm just a beginner and still confused a lot:) Sorry about the faded wires on the Schematic.
I was going to use a ROHM 50Hz Signal Diode but it was only 25ma then I thought a fast Shottky 500ma would be Ok and then I got confused:rolleyes:
The circuit is surface mount "very little space to fit it" the Diode can only be 0603 Package as largest size the Caps. are Tantalum. C and A size.

THANKS Guys!
mum

Attachments

Dodgydave

Joined Jun 22, 2012
How can you have a + side on an AC signal???

That's what AC does it reverses its self, so the diode will be conducting on the other cycle!

Last edited:

cork_ie

Joined Oct 8, 2011
Why are you using a 50HZ sq wave power supply? Surely DC would be easier? Please correct me if I am missing something or don't quite understand your circuit.

I don't understand why,you don't just use a series Si diode in the input.

You have 7.4-8.4 Volts in your supply input and your output is 3.3V. You are using an ldo regulator and should have plenty margin to drop the 0.7 Volt required.

Schottky's have a lower voltage drop but suffer from high reverse bias leakage, although this shouldn't cause a problem either in this particular application.

cork_ie

Joined Oct 8, 2011
How can you have a + side on an AC signal???

That's what AC does it reverses its self, so the diode will be conducting on the other cycle!
Yes I thought that too , the only thing I can think of is that it is that the ground of the square wave is at 0V and the signal is positive relative to that.
Wouldn't a square wave be = a pwm signal at 50% duty cycle?

help_mum

Joined Sep 13, 2012