Digital stop watch

Bob.Ahmadi

Joined Sep 10, 2012
Hi All,

I've just register here and it seems it's a very good place to exchange the knowledges .
I have a project and I hope someone can help me . I am a member of a new born speed skate club and we are Looking for a stop watch timer for our time trial races . The club hasn't money at the moment to buy it and because my background is electronic , I've offered that I might be able to build that
I could build a good size digital display with LED and now just looking for an innovative and not expensive design .
Any help appreciated . I can discuss more details if anyone can help
Me on this matter .

Cheers ,
Bob

shubham161

Joined Jul 22, 2012
how would you make? using microcontroller?

if you can construct the hardware part then i can help you with its programming. i am good at programming stuff.

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
What are your timing needs. This can be done relatively simple. If you settle for seconds tenth of seconds and hundredth of seconds. Using ripple counters. A microcontroller solution will be more elegant and less parts of course. You will only need one chip

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
Here's a lesson that took me years to realize: building some electronic item has a vanishing small chance of being cheaper then buying it.

A display like this needs large numeric digits bright enough and with a proper color to be seen in daylight outdoors. As people will be looking at it you want it in a good looking case too, or all anyone will see is how bad the case looks. (A good looking case "disappears," an ugly one attracts attention)