Digital Logic Project

DPorter

Joined Apr 21, 2008
Hi all, I'm new to the forums but plan to become a regular member (just now discovered this forum; I'm excited!) Anyway, I'm an electronics engineering undergraduate student at the University of North Texas. I'm taking a class called Digital Logic and we have a semester project. We use Altera Quartus II software. The problem statement is this:

"Using state machine design, input two BCD numbers from switches (on the Altera DE2 board we use), add the two numbers and display the result on the seven segment display. A reset button restarts the state machine to the beginning. Incorporate a state machine that advances states based on a momentary push-button switch input. Test the inputs for validity and display E for error if a non-valid BCD number is entered."

Now I understand the material well, but we've never had a problem like this. Typically the labs are fairly simple and include in depth guidelines. The instructor and TAs are not able to help us; its driving me crazy! Thought I'd take a shot in the dark and see if anyone could help me. Thanks guys!

~Donny

DPorter

Joined Apr 21, 2008
The problem statement calls for using VHDL, but I have a better understanding of block diagram schematics. Once I have the problem correctly operating using a block diagram schematic, I think I can implement it using VHDL. I'm just not very good with VHDL. My professor hasn't taught it that well, and I haven't had many labs that require it. My main problem is just where to start. I have the BCD to seven segment decoder part down because we had to make the macro from VHDL code in a previous lab. I'm mainly stuck on how many inputs (I know I need clock and reset), and how to setup the adder circuit. And thank you for the quick response!

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
An input register to sample the switches would be a good idea.